You can purchase your license plates the month before, the month of and the
month following your birthday. Example: birthday July 15; you can purchase your
license plates in the month of June or July or August.
To renew by
mail, simply return the notice with the proper payment in the envelope provided.
To renew online, go to the
Iowa State Treasurers Association website and use eCheck, Discover Card,
MasterCard or Visa. The PIN and plate number on your notice are necessary for
online payment. A service delivery fee is applied to each online transaction.
See details at www.GetYourTags.com. Delinquent plates can not be renewed online.
Special License Plates:
Iowa has over 30 different types of license plates that may be displayed on your
vehicle for an additional fee.
Special plates may be ordered
directly from the Iowa Department of Transportation in Des Moines.
Applications are available at any County Treasurerís Office.
Transfer of Ownership:
EFFECTIVE January 1, 2020 The Treasurer's Office will require a
Bill Of Sale for ALL motor vehicle sales.
of Sale should be completed in ink and include:
vehicle (Ford, Dodge, etc)
Year of vehicle
VIN # (vehicle identification
Buyer's Name and Signature
Seller's Name and Signature
Dollar amount of Sale
To transfer ownership on a motor vehicle or trailer, you must have the
certificate of title.
On vehicles 10 years of age or newer, you
must have an odometer statement and damage disclosure statement.
Utility trailers with an empty weight less than 2000 pounds are not titled, to
transfer ownership you must have the current registration.
To place a vehicle in storage, the license plates must be turned in before they
Storage does not prorate a license fee, but
does drop all back year license fees and penalties.
When taking a
vehicle out of storage, the current full year license fee is due. A vehicle must
be in storage a minimum of 13 months or additional fees will apply. Please call
the Treasurerís office at 319-372-3405 or 319-524-1126 for further details.