New Driver's License hours, license class information, costs, required tests and link to online Driver's License Manual here.


  Lee County, Iowa, Treasurer - Driver's License

Driverís License Hours:
FORT MADISON
933 Ave H
Ft. Madison, IA 52627
Phone: 319-372-3405
Fax #: 319-372-7033
 
HOURS (Starting July 5, 2011):
Monday -  Thursday - 8:30am - 4:00pm
Written Test have to be present by 3:30pm*
Friday Ė 8:30am - 2:00pm
Written Test have to be present by 1:30pm*
   
 
* NO written tests are given after 3:30 PM. M-Th / Appointment is required for driving test.
* NO written tests are given after 1:30 PM. Friday / Appointment is required for driving test.


License
Class
Minimum
Age
Expiration
Date
Required Tests Cost
A (commercial) 18 2- or 5- year on birthdate See CDL manual $16*
$40*
B (commercial) 18 2- or 5- year on birthdate See CDL manual $16*
$40*
C (commercial) 18 2- or 5- years on birthday See CDL manual $16*
$40*
C (non-commercial-Operator) If not subject to Intermediate License
16 2- or 5- year on birthdate Knowledge
Vision
Driving
$8
$20
D (non-commercial-Chauffeur) 18 2- or 5- year on birthdate Knowledge Vision
Driving
$16
$40
M (Motorcycle License only - new issuance) 16 2- or 5- year on birthdate Knowledge Vision
Driving
$10
$25
Restriction 1 (Motorcycle Instruction Permit - must be added to an existing license) 14 Same as current license Knowlege
Vison
$1 & $2 per year
C Restriction 1 (Motorcycle Permit only - new issuance) 14 4 years on birthdate Knowledge
Vision
$8
C Restriction 2
(Instruction Permit)
14 4 years on birthdate Knowledge
Vision
$6
C Restriction 3 (Commercial Instruction Permit - must be added to an existing license) 18 6 months Knowledge
Vision
$12
C Restriction 4 (Chauffeur's Instruction Permit) 18 2 years on birthdate Knowledge
Vision
$12
C Restriction 5 (Moped/Motorized Bicycle License) 14 2 years on birthdate Knowledge
Vision
$8
C Restriction 6 (Minor's Restricted license) 16 2 years on birthdate Knowledge
Vision
Driving
$8
C Restriction 7 **
(minorís school license)
14 2 years on birthdate Knowledge Vision
Driving
$8
C Restriction Y **
(Intermediate License)
16 18th birthday Vision $8
Non-Driver ID Card
NA 5-8 years from issue date None $1 per year
         
* There are additional fees for the commercial endorsements.
** Driverís Education Certificate required for Intermediate License and Minorís School License.
Persons under the age of 18, and age 70 or older may be issued a 2-year license only.  All others will be issued a 5-year license.
This information from the Iowa Driver's Manual provides a general understanding, however, is not intended to serve as a precise statement of Iowa statutes and should not be considered as such.
For further information, check the Code of Iowa, Chapters 321 through 321J, and the Iowa Department of Transportation rules contained in the Iowa Administrative Code.

WHAT TO HAVE WITH YOU:
All applicants must provide verification of social security number.
If you are applying for any license, non-driver ID, duplicate, renewal or permit, you must show proof of your age and identity. You must provide one primary document and one secondary document.
Primary Documents include: Passport, Certified birth certificate.
Secondary Documents include: previous license, Social Security Card, Employer ID, Health Insurance Card, Proof of Residency for new Iowa Residents or Move Ins.
A complete listing of primary and secondary documents available at the Driverís License Station.



Driverís License Manual:
Iowa Driverís License Manual online
 
             

Historic Miller House sign - Keokuk

Veterans Memorial - Keokuk

Historic Miller House sign - Keokuk

Veterans Memorial - Keokuk